Skip to content

Louis Vuitton x Mert & Marcus

November 14, 2008

The new Spring 09′ Louis Vuitton campaign is going to be shot by Steven Meisel, according to reports from WWD and style.com, with Madonna the main star. That is going to end a nearly seven year run with Mert & Marcus photographing the campaigns from mainline to cruise collections. Before them, Patrick Demarchelier and Inez & Vinoodh had done the job before.

I have to admit that I will miss Mert & Marcu’s crazy colours and photoshopping for LV. Their photography style suits the Louis Vuitton image really well— bright, bold and luxurious. I also noticed that most of their campaigns involve the models or celebrities lying down with a bag (of course!) and their Fall ads are mostly shot in studio, Spring ads outdoors. Fall ads are darker, while Spring ads adopt a slightly lighter tone.

Here is a retrospective of the past Mert & Marcus for Louis Vuitton campaigns. Enjoy!

Spring 02′

lvss02

Spring 03′

lvfw02

Fall 03′

lvfw03

Spring 04′

lvss04

Fall 04′

lvfw04

Spring 05′

lvss05

Fall 05′

lvfw05

Spring 06′

lvss06

Fall 06′

lvfw06

Spring 07′

lvss07-scarlett

Fall 07′

lvfw07-scarlett

Spring 08′

lvss08

Fall 08′

lvfw08

The last Vuitton campaign by M&M— Cruise 09′

lv-cruise

The duo who brought you all those campaigns:

mm

And now Meisel is taking over. According to reports, he is shooting it today in LA, maybe right this second.

steven-meisel

images: TFS, style.com, jozworld.club.fr
10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2008 10:29 pm

    hey, I’ve never commented on your blog before, but I love it and thanks so much for the updates 🙂 For LV, I loved Fall 02 with Eva Herzigova and 03 with La Lopez.. in my young(er) mind they represented a sporty luxe feel and the colours were just so beautiful.. unforgettable!

  2. November 17, 2008 3:46 am

    Has for me Spring 04 had quite a visual impact in my mind, this is one of my all time favorites.

  3. November 18, 2008 1:30 am

    when seeing such outstanding phtos I remember the reason why I love photos , it makes people feel all the beauty of life

  4. damnthatlion permalink
    November 20, 2008 7:44 pm

    The second image is actually spring/summer 03; fall 02 was the one with Eva on the tracks in the snow, in the train compartment, on the balcony. M&M’s best Vuitton campaign in my opinion

  5. November 20, 2008 8:05 pm

    Hey thanks, I’ve corrected it.

    Was trying hard to find the missing one…

  6. November 29, 2008 12:37 am

    Miesel and Madonna. Magic.

  7. February 19, 2009 8:23 pm

    Cruise 2009 was actually shot by Patrick Demarchelier.. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. ' + wtitle + '
  2. Louis Vuitton and Mert & Marcus | ...ambushU.com...
  3. Just for fun… – Cheryl Spelts

Leave a comment