Skip to content

Working-in-progress

November 19, 2008

I am in the midst of wrapping up my six prom dresses, and by next week I will be able to show you some pictures of them. Attending the prom as the designer is going to be fun I guess, because I am there for a different reason, as a behind-the-scenes person (I am doing the styling & make-up for the girls too) and witness the important occasion from a different angle. 

Following closely after Project Prom dress I am starting work on my upcoming collections. I am aiming for a mid December launch because the clothes are going to be meant for the holiday season and I don’t want be too late, but I have been rather held up the past few months so hopefully the shopping mood hasn’t vanished by the time I came out with a new collection. I am also working on a line of basics. Something more watered down and casual but still embody my own vision. 

I have three collections under my belt so far but I feel like I still have a lot to learn and prove to others. I did take a longer break this time to plan carefully and be more confident of the key ideas before jumping into the production mode, so hopefully everything will turn out well. I have also read the feedbacks and opinions and I will definitely keep them in mind as I work on these collections.

For the past half a year, I have been sewing a lot more often than I did in any other times. I did dressmaking since young but I think it is during this period of time that I have finally identified my own aesthetics. For starters, anything that is vintage, overly-sweet or soft aren’t really my cup of tea. I like the idea of power-dressing, as well as the idea of women to look smart and fearless in their clothes. It makes sense that I prefer tight over loose, structural over shapeless. 

In fact, what I have always envisioned a woman should look hasn’t change ever since I started out. This is my work for the finals of a competition when I was 16. My theme is ”An Empress’s prelude”, it was meant to be ethnic…

ethnic-chic-fashion-runway-21-me-and-roundup-1

n643570854_773982_4440

I know there are times when you might look back at your old stuff, photos when you are young etc and go ”Oh my god what was I thinking when I wore that?” but whenever I look back at that whole ensemble from the competition which happened two years ago, I still feel very strongly for it. The sharp shoulders, the neckless collar, the powerful feel of it… and that skirt. It has became my signature skirt. Don’t say it looks like Chanel couture or Galliano. For the record I created that silhouette after being inspired by the shape of an umbrella when it is being folded-up and it looks like a glowing chinese lantern in that red shade. 

I have remade that skirt for my second capsule collection: 

look-1

 

I don’t feel that it is as good as my first but I might include a new version of it again for the upcoming one. I am currently very fond of a few colours and I have also found my muse/insiration for this holiday collection. Ok I am not going to drop too much hints as it says in the title that I am still in production mode…

Stay tune for the launch!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 9:57 pm

    I like what I see…”ethnic” is definitely more interesting. Much success with the clothing line.
    Visit Our Site

  2. November 21, 2008 1:19 am

    “I like the idea of power-dressing, as well as the idea of women to look smart and fearless in their clothes. It makes sense that I prefer tight over loose, structural over shapeless.”

    I love that! So inspirational! Best of luck with all. 🙂

  3. November 21, 2008 3:01 am

    hi there, i would be interested in engaging your services too, however long ago my prom was :S
    do let me know if your time permits, thanks!

Leave a Reply

