Skip to content

Loading now, off in the space… Balenciaga

September 30, 2008

After a quick glance through the pictures from catwalking… one word pops up in my mind about the collection: Galaxy.

 


 

 

Ghesquiere has been tackling futurism for the past few seasons, it started at Spring 08′, with the slew of structured looks at the end of that show. And he continues doing that through out Fall 08′, resort and now it becomes even more literal. Though this collection started with neutral colours, the rest is full of gleam and shine— metallics, sequins and foil-like material. Complete with the browless pale nude makeup, it looks almost like a parade of aliens

But the clothes are interesting as always and they are pretty conservative, for Spring at least. Get this, the gloves are sewn up to the jackets and the tights are pulled over the shoes. Not that he doesn’t want to sell them, but having each and every model carrying a clutch while marching down the runway, he still does bring focus to the accessories. 

I would say some of the silhouettes are very ‘seen-before’, and he didn’t really bring in new elements. In fact, I think futurism and science are pretty over-used, they always show off the craftsmanship and the idea of fashion forward to the max of the max but think Louis Goldin and Gareth Pugh, they are even more specialized in it. I hated those sequin dresses. Remove the gloves/tights/sweater and you are left with a glittering tube top. Miley Cyrus can wear that to Teen Choice Award red carpets next year. 

Balenciaga used to be a label that is very prone to being ripped-off by street labels. It must have been tough for Ghesquiere to keep things fresh, stay commercial and yet unique enough to not get copied. It’s very tricky task actually.

Some detail shots:

I have a feeling that the clutches will be a sold out.

There are also some menswear looks in the show…

I love them, ESPECIALLY the pants, please look closer at the hem. Imagine one day when they officially set up Balenciaga Menswear… Dior Homme watch out.

 

— see full collection here

 

 

images: TFS via catwalking
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kielo permalink
    September 30, 2008 9:02 pm

    I must say that I`m not at my most analytical at the moment: my fashion famine has just been satisfied… Finally content! What bliss… It has been a dry season pretty much, and I`m loving this to bits at the mo`.

  2. September 30, 2008 11:23 pm

    I’m so in love with his collection! He always does a good job. Definitely my favourite!!!

  3. October 1, 2008 12:40 am

    my ‘like’ for this collection grew 30% after seeing the detail shots… that’s when zooming in helps 😉

    and i am still trying to understand the shoes. they are always different and slightly unwearable, this time it’s just WOW~… I really have to wait till seeing them in magazines, and on celebs (ahem Olsens are you eyeing them already?)

  4. Kielo permalink
    October 1, 2008 7:48 pm

    This is it for me. It has a nostalgic cotton-candy vibe to the metallics, and I need no convincing.

    What really mystifies me are the Paris castings: last seasons opening & closing girls are neither at Balenciaga. So much for conviction (not a fashion-y subject anyway).

  5. October 2, 2008 12:55 pm

    I loved Balenciaga’s Spring/Summer 08 collection (the cropped jackets and scarves were to die for) and Fall 08/Winter 09 collection (those dominatrix and latex dresses were amazing). But I’m not feeling the love for this season’s collection.

    Hopefully, it will grow on me over time.

Leave a Reply

