Skip to content

Zara Fall 08′

August 25, 2008

As you all know Zara had officially taken over from GAP as the largest clothing retail chain in the world. So today, I went into the store to check out why and how did they manage to beat GAP, the American clothing company which focus very heavily on advertising (its latest campaign occupied 10 pages of US Vogue, plus the billboards at times square…)

Everywhere in the store has a piece or two bohemian items tucked within the shelves and hangers. Yes, bohemian. Gucci, Anna Sui and Hermes started it and now Zara. I literally grabbed a few dresses and exclaimed to my friends “so Gucci!” because the prints & shape are so strikingly familiar. There are studded embroidered vests and fringe bags, which my friend went crazy with.

Other than this bohemian vibe, I spotted a lot of checkered frilly dresses, D&G style (you know that fall 08′ finale?). They even have checkered leggings and mini skirts. Next, I saw a fur vest that looks like this one from Marni (imagine it sleeveless) :

Come on, who can wear that in Singapore aka a country with no fall/winter? 

To be honest, I didn’t really like what they sell. I don’t usually shop there often so this is purely a first time shopper’s view. The bohemian blouses are ultra light and see-through. It gives me a feeling that it doesn’t worth the $100+ price tag. Plus, whatever you wear underneath (think a tube top) is not going to make it look good anyway. For my friends, they have troubles with the long flowy maxi dresses. They are gorgeous and Gucci-like but they are definitely not made for petite people like us. On the hanger, the entire dress itself (not counting the straps) is almost as tall as my friend, who’s 5ft3. It screams ‘strictly no dwarfs’ to us. Lastly, I am not really feeling the checkered sidekicks (hello mini skirts), they look trashy to me. 

Ok, there are things that I like. The usual coats and everything that Sasha wore for the campaign but majority of the merchandise is a bit off to me. Zara is very fast at catching up with trends, I remember how they filled up the entire store with floral prints for Spring 08′, and they have good marketing strategies. I am guessing that they make most of their moolah from those semi rip-offs. But overall, I am not really impressed. 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2008 3:26 pm

    Yes laila, I do think Zara catches on the latest trend very quickly.
    I remember last (or last LAST) fall, when the moccasin boots are in the “introduction” of a trend stage, they got their top racks displayed with knee height moccasins, which is one of the first brand stores to do so.
    I was like “wow, that’s fast.” at that time!

    But something that I do not like about Zara is that many of the apparels are kinda rip offs. Their shoes, hands down, are just about the same. They just screams out “LOUBOUTINS!”

  2. Fashionista permalink
    August 25, 2008 4:30 pm

    i love zara clothes but if u really look at them they’re just a cheaper copie of original designer pieces and of course they add something different for spring 08 i bought these almost exact pair of heels like the miu miu pink and brown bubble gum inspired for fall 2007 though they were brown..the ralph lauren dresses were very alike with almost the same patterns(not to mention those flowers were in at the time)they r very wearable though and it’s good to have amazing pieces like that turned around a little bit so everyone can wear amazing clothes and combine them with some more expensive pieces

  3. August 26, 2008 6:34 am

    Hey Laila, first of all i wanna say it’s really nice meeting u & friends at the party! I guess in the future we need to have a party theme as Rock.the.trend because i think i looked really silly in the photos to wear thing i’ve never dare to wear before. lol

    And one thing zara really pissed me off was it’s sizing. Even small was either too loose for too long for me :/

  4. August 27, 2008 7:09 pm

    I stopped shopping at Zara almost 10 years ago because of their poor return policy (compared to other retailers in NYC) when I tried to return a shirt that was cut too narrow around the arms.

    Zara has always been more fashion forward (ie. European) and expensive than GAP or JCrew. My favorite large scale retailer is still Uniqlo.

  5. August 30, 2008 4:02 am

    price tags at Zara is ridiculously high… the only time I felt I had a bargain in Zara was when I discovered their warehouse sale.. dresses originally priced at 100+ SGD were going at 39.90.

  6. August 31, 2008 4:34 pm

    Well Layla, there are a lot of countries we cannot wear often summery clothes, or oriental stuff….Fall clothes are the most important pieces to have in a wardrobe lately due to the changing envoriment. That’s how it is……

    About Zara, bohemian is or was a life-style. Not necessarly fashion related. This is just a silly retro hippie-dress…
    When Zara started it was great. Great for people, as most fashion lovers, cannot afford the pricey designers/labels pieces. As even H&M was at first very desireable.
    But how can you complain you Asian girls are too short for these clothes when all the LABEL designs are made for tall, skinny girls? I wonder all the time how someone with curves, not that tall etc. will look in all the fabulous designs? If they still are so good as they look like in all that photoshopped magazines and ads???

    Doesn’t anyone ever wonder about that?

  7. September 14, 2008 11:44 pm

    I accidentally got on this blog and i was shocked.
    I’m from Belgium and Zara is one of my favourite stores. It’s so CHEAP and fashionable.
    Their clothes are long because of the fact that they were made to European norms. And as we all know, Europeans are usually taller than the average American or Asian,…

  8. September 15, 2008 1:03 am

    Hi all & stephanie,

    yes it’s popular in other countries, esp Europe i guess if not how can it be the largest retailer in the world?

    but locally, and in asian country, it is really expensive and the sizes are really a huge problem…

    well, there are definitely both good & bad side of many things, are how they appeal to different people 🙂

  9. October 9, 2008 10:32 pm

    Zara is truly one of my fav retailer ever! The style they have on the hanger changes constantly. And all of the items are fuckin wearable.

    No doubt.

Leave a Reply

