Skip to content

Another one comes knockin’

August 18, 2008

I am talking about my third capsule collection. It hasn’t happened before, but this time I am doing everything within a month because I keep feeling inspired, and the energy is just, there. I have done some planning with my new photographer and the shoot is happening this saturday, launch will be on 1st September. This time, I promise everything is going to be dynamic.

I am a little tired of the back-to-back sewing sessions, but I won’t be able to have a vacation soon (sigh). The prom season is coming, in November, right here in Singapore and I already have a client. She is not my first prom client though, I designed and made my own prom dress last year, as well as my classmate’s. She was a size 10, and I jumped at the idea of making her a dress because as a designer, I really want my clothes to cater to different kinds of women, all colours and sizes

OK, let me move on to this mini showcase of my ‘wardrobe’ a.k.a clothes that I’ve made for myself to wear. I don’t really have a distinctive sense of style. I am a fashion blogger not style blogger anyway, but not being able to find clothes that I like when I go shopping is one of the very main reason why I’ve wanted to become a designer. For myself, I prefer comfy pieces that says standout without being too loud. It all lies in putting some extra thoughts into a simple dress or top, like colours, fabric and pattern. 

Photobucket
This dress is definitely not original (but I wouldn’t call it a rip-off either). The fabric reminds me of Prada SS08’s checkered leggings, then I decided to give it a Miu Miu SS08 twist with the babydoll pleats.

Photobucket
Yellow and grey, this colour combination has never crossed my mind before but it is a way to not make the dress look dull.

Photobucket
My very poorly made wrap-coat.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

I silkscreened the cheeky ‘Galliano Is Back’ shirt and hand painted the Rock.The.Trend. tee. This blog is not branded, but it is my take on crappy logo tees by some other fashion houses (think Chloé).

Well if you are interested in any of those looks, I can do a remake for you, simply drop me an email (check the CONTACTS page) or comment will do.

Cheers,

Laila

P.S. the images from May till July have been temporarily suspended. Will be reactivated on 28th August.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2008 5:18 am

    I love the t-shirts (of course) and the gray (it looks blue on screen) dress with yellow straps.

    The first blue number is beautifully made and I love the pleats but I would have preferred it in a solid color (burgundy or black). Also, I would do something with the waist, either with a ribbon sash or a thick leather belt to hide the hems.

    Hope you don’t mind the criticism. It is meant in good faith and admiration of your work.

  2. Stephie permalink
    August 19, 2008 10:51 am

    LOVE the last two tees (:

  3. wottoncool permalink
    August 19, 2008 2:38 pm

    i do like the checkered dress! think the print adds interest (:

  4. August 19, 2008 2:40 pm

    OMG! The “Galliano is Back” tee is hilariously AWESOME!
    LOVE IT!

    And I do think those dresses are very much your style(I’m guessing), which like what you said, minimal and comfortable.

  5. August 19, 2008 3:42 pm

    What has happened to all the photos? Noticed this before? Everything is exeeded?

  6. August 19, 2008 4:11 pm

    @ asian models blogger: it’s cool, love to hear your opinions 😀

    @ stephie, wottoncool and bingboompia: thanks! haha

    @ Nana: I forgot to watch the amount of images I have been uploading and it exceeded the usage. So the account has been suspended. Images in May – July posts will be suspended till 28th August 😦

  7. edina permalink
    August 21, 2008 1:57 am

    😦 i cannot see your beautiful clothing

  8. leslie permalink
    September 2, 2008 12:33 pm

    i love the yellow straps on that blue dress, really cute! and i want a rock.the.trend. teeeee!!!

Leave a Reply

