Skip to content

Vogue Italia all black issue— the editorials

July 8, 2008

Which is your favourite?

Mine is Sessilee’s. Her poses are great, she should be featured in more high fashion editorials in future. But I hate the fact that it is in black and white— her face is kinda pale, she doesn’t look like a black.

                                  Photobucket

Some others:

          Photobucket
            Naomi Campbell (see the rest at style.it)

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Jourdan Dunn and Arlenis Sosa

images:TFS

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2008 4:42 pm

    POWERFUL IMAGES!! Thank you for sharing these. I’m going to pick up THIS issue!! They are ALL too beautiful to pick only one but for me Naomi is an effortless model.

  2. July 8, 2008 6:04 pm

    I found coincidental this July Vogue Italia video on YouTube yesterday evening and posted it immediately on Style.com fashion forum……??

    How and where did you found it?

    I’ve none favourite. In fact I’m not charmed with this all black model issue with its four covers which should have been spread over a year as well as the shoots. That would be a fair way to treat black and other coloured models and is a more realistic image for me, living in a multi-cultural society. This is too politic correct for me and if its a ‘0ne-issue-wonder’ what’s the use? This July issue feels not right to me. Some shoots are almost if the girls are white thanks to wonderful photoshop. Not only Sessilee looks pale so does Tyra….

    Don’t get me wrong I love some of the models and photos a lot and I wish I see these beauty on a monthly basis in the magazines., not like this…..

  3. July 8, 2008 8:00 pm

    I love all the pictures. Arlenis Sosa is really beautiful not only in pictures , real life too.

  4. July 8, 2008 10:10 pm

    Sessilee and Arlenis look so gorgeous in the issue. I really hope that they are featured in the Sept issue as well.

  5. July 9, 2008 3:55 am

    My only complaint is the lack of diversity among the black models in the issue. Chanel Iman looks like Jourdan Dunn who looks like Arlenis Sosa and Sessilee Lopez. I wish they had included Alek Wek, who has a distinctive African look.

    That said, the girls are gorgeous and the editorials are superb except Naomi Campbell’s set.

  6. July 9, 2008 3:58 am

    Side note: Steve and Barry’s, the discount retailer that carries Sarah Jessica Parker’s Bitten line is filing for bankruptcy. Heard it in the evening news tonight.

  7. miss5elements permalink
    July 9, 2008 4:06 am

    All the photos are great. Most photographers and makeup artists still struggle to bring out Black women’s beauty to their fullest (compare most of Alek’s pictures to her phenomenal cover on Essence magazine many years ago). They seem to be more enthralled with the stark differences between Black and white skin, than the actual beauty of their features. Black women come in all shades and I think these models represent that.

    This single issue is a start for Vogue and makes a great statement. For years, we’ve complained about our disappearance from the fashion scene. Now finally, with the visuals this issue will provide, it proves multitudes will hear what’s being said.

  8. Kielo permalink
    July 9, 2008 1:41 pm

    Sessilee looks the best, everyone is beautifull, but with all the funny hats and classical poses I must confess a slight boredom. It will different when I have a copy in my hands, still this doesn`t really rock my world like it probably wasn`t intended to anyway.

  9. Chris permalink
    July 9, 2008 8:26 pm

    I agree completely with Nana. I find it very condescending that the Eurocentric fashion industry chooses to devote a “fashion appetizer” to black people instead of just including more often—regularly. Fashion is expanding rapidly in Africa and Asia and no one outside knows because the magazines devote all their time to American and (especially) European designers and models, then patronizingly ooh and ahh at how “avant-guard” and “exotic” fashion is elsewhere. Psh. And I am not at all surprised that the wonders of Photoshop give the models lighter skin tones and flaxen hair. Fashion definitely needs to address its seriously backwards postcolonial issues.

    On a more positive note, Sessilee looks lovely. Jourdan Dunn’s is my favourite. Naomi….well, eh.

Leave a Reply

