Skip to content

The Erin O’Connor exclusive

June 13, 2008

Photobucket
In Lanvin, for Harper’s BAZAAR Singapore July 08′

The modelling veteran and vice chairman of British Fashion Council was in town for the Singapore Fashion Festival a few months back and the local BAZAAR managed to book her for a covershoot and an interview. I could have met her if I interned for a week more, but alright I missed the chance. My fellow interns who were on the set told me about how down to earth and ‘nice’ she is.
An established topmodel with no diva air? That must be really ‘nice’.

Some excerpts from the interview:

On the topic of size zero teenage models
”What I want to bring to the table is the issue of age… why do we, as adult women, emulate people that are not even formed into their own bodies?”

Her beau
”I’m a six-foot woman… but my current boyfriend is taller than me and that’s very nice.”

She is a fan of Agyness Deyn
”Agyness doesn’t realise how how inspiring she is… She is inspiring designers by being herself.”

She will be around for long
”He (Jean Paul Gaultier) always tells me that I’m going to be modelling until I am a granny and quite frankly, I have no problems with that!”

Photobucket

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2008 6:20 pm

    I read in another blog (I think) that Erin O’Connor was the guest supermodel at the recent Singapore Fashion Week.

    Glad to see her on the cover again. I always get her mixed up with Stella Tennant.

  2. Nana permalink
    June 14, 2008 11:14 am

    Erin O’Connor’s timeless beauty must be a guarantee for a long life as a model. Because fashion is for women of all ages. She’s a great role-model and hopefully she will around for a long time coming.

    I’m not really a fan of Madonna but I’ve read a comment of hers which I do agree with: “There is racism, sexism and ageism in this world.”

    I’ve just watched on Stylefrizz.com a great video of the 90’s beautiful and even more so fun models. The pleasure, the fun and the smiling faces….what a joy to see in comparison with today’s models.

  3. June 18, 2008 2:18 am

    i love her bold, old-school glamour look. i also love that she’s as flat as a tack but still looks so wondrful!

Leave a Reply

