Skip to content

The ‘Marc vs Media’ saga continues

October 12, 2007

With this post, I realize that I have been talking too much about Marc Jacobs…
Here’s the latest controvesy:

A month ago, Marc was late for his New York show and of course everyone was unhappy about his professionalism and everything. Suzy Menkes of Herald Tribune slammed him right away.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

At Paris, his Louis Vuitton show kept the audience up for more than one hour again.

New York Times fashion critic Cathy Horyn, who was at the Vuitton show with Suzy Menkez and witnessed all the drama going on while he’s late, blogged about this: ”I didn’t care for the gesture Jacobs made to Suzy at the end of the show. He stuck his tongue out. I guess he thought he was being cool or funny, on account of his feelings about her review of his New York show. It’s unbelievable, really. He should have known better.”
By the way, Cathy is known for her harsh reviews. She was banned from Giorgio Armani’s show.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
                              Suzy Menkes, Cathy Horyns

Marc actually posted a comment in response to that blogpost to explain his gesture: ”I did NOT stick my tongue out at Suzy Menkes……I pulled a stupid face with my tongue out in happiness for being done with what has been a great but most stressful season for me. I am not stupid, childish or a vindictive person….I had prior to the show left a silly t-shirt and a nice note for Suzy on her seat. Why would I do anything to further upset her? Right after a show!!?? Cathy and all else reading this, I am surprised that anyone who knows me at all think that I am that petty or stupid! Anyone who has ever been on a stage would know you can’t actually see the audience. I made a face at no one in particular….I didn’t have a clue as to who was sitting there. Come on guys, give me a break!!!!! ”

Cathy confirmed that it’s really Marc who posted that comment and gave him a call. He explained that it’s a misunderstanding and she apologised to him thereafter.

In fact, Marc did tried to make up with Suzy. ”After the dust-up in New York, Jacobs said he had put a T-shirt on her seat at the LV show as an olive branch. It showed a cartoon of the fashion critic wringing the designer’s neck and it was embroidered by Lesage. He thought it was a sweet way of making up. ”

People, just leave him alone. I’ll still buy his dresses even if he crashed into a tree one day.

source: fashionista.com
all quotes from: fashion & style- New York Times blog

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2007 7:06 pm

    Yikes, what an unflattering photo of Suzy.

  2. sophie permalink
    October 13, 2007 12:03 am

    seems a very unusual thing to have an obese person in the fashion industry… not that it’s a bad thing but it just seems a little unlikely.

Trackbacks

  1. Marc Jacobs contro tutti | Very Cool!

Leave a Reply

